sixtydoses. where od is harmless.

March 14, 2009

Fitter happier.

Filed under: Life, Tech — Tags: , , , , , — od @ 11:19 pm

Yea, there has been a lack of update. I was busy with WebLogic, and Devin.. oh well, he only writes material that meets a certain literary and relevancy standard and he is not that prolific. Lol. Guess you’ll never find him writing anything that will be tagged as rant 😛

Few things happened last week..

Weblogic completed:
Am done with the project last week, which is cool. Haven’t gone through the UAT session with the users yet, so until they say “All’s good”, guess I’ll have to keep my fingers crossed. Weeee!!!!



I lost my handphone:
Yes, my cheap handphone. I can’t believe someone would want to steal it. I bought the handphone for about 300 – 400 bucks, so am surprised that someone would be so keen to steal it. How much does it worth really? 2 small packets of weed? Am not bothered about the phone. Well alright, I am bothered, because it costs money. But what I care the most is the data inside the phone. My contacts, my messages, heck I even have a few audio clips of my cat purring recorded with that phone. Oh well. Fuck you, thief.



Medical checkups:
I had a couple of medical checkups performed last Tuesday and Thursday. Last Tuesday I got all wired up for the holter monitoring test. It was something like a 24 hours of ECG (electrocardiogram) to monitor the electrical activity of my heart. I couldn’t take showers during the procedure because it’ll damage the device. So yeah, am pretty happy with the fact that I don’t have to shower and not feeling guilty about it. Am just plain lazy sometimes.

And last Thursday, I got up very early in the morning and headed to the General Hospital to get my brain checked. It was a quick EEG (electroencephalography), prolly around 20 minutes where I had to blink my eyes numerous times, with bright light flickered directly on me for a few minutes and inhale/exhale profusely for 5 minutes which was tiring since am asthmatic. And oh my, I looked horrible with my hair glued on with all the wires. And I looked even worse after the guy pulled them out. I looked like a woman who is trying too hard to impress a guy by applying extra hair gel. You know the type of hair gel that will make your hair hard and stiff? Gah. I hate it.

I’ll be getting the results this April. I hope everything will be fine, since am always fine, and anyway I agreed to go through all of these medical procedures because my sister told me to. Nothing serious.



FreeBSD upgrade:
Yeah, finally! Upgraded to 7.1. I did it last Saturday, and I was thinking to update this blog on Sunday, but guess what, the update went fine until suddenly I failed to start the X server. Hmmm.. now that’s weird, because this was not the first time I did a FreeBSD upgrade, plus, this was just a minor version upgrade, so what could go wrong? Building world, kernel and installing them went perfectly well. I didn’t forget to run mergemaster, the machine booted up well. Spent a day changing the theme, and all of the sudden it failed (yeah, ironically it failed after I spent the whole day beautifying my desktop, why didn’t it fail sooner?). I realized that it failed just after I ran portupgrade to upgrade my Opera and Firefox. Probably the modules are not synced, am not sure.

I spent the next 48 hours running portupgrade numerous times, until I finally decided to rebuild perl, xorg and xfce4. But to my surprise it failed. I reinstalled my xfce4 and its gang one by one, so they’ll all run on the same version. Reboot the machine and voila, am back. Still, some of my installed packages are broken, so I had to fix them.

So they say, if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it. I could’ve just stick to FreeBSD 7.0 and save the 48 hours from the agonizing pain of troubleshooting my machine. But seriously, it was worth it. The performance is so much better, XFCE 4.6 is brilliant with more new features and yes fellas.. flash 9 works 🙂



He got engaged:
Yes, he finally got engaged. AmazingCongratulations.

6 Comments »

  1. Yes, no one hold their breath while waiting for me to write a rant on our mutual blog! My policy is that I don’t want to just write an entry because I feel I have to. What fun is that? And there is so much information out there already on the web…but no, Ray, there is no revolution happening in Canada despite the “quiet” you perceive. At least I hope not…Stephen Harper is a pretty sly guy and I don’t mean that in the good way. Rest assured, if he pulls anything weird ordinary Canadians will be surprised ourselves if our joke prime minister dares such a venture. Me and Corey both stick our tongues at Stephen on a daily basis. Back me up on this Corey! lol

    Whoever stole that phone is a bad person and he better hope that Bobby Mercer doesn’t find out where he lives or he will be in majour trouble! Hmmm..wouldn’t it be nice if all cell phones by default came embedded with an internal GPS systems in them? That would serve that thief right! 🙂

    So glad you enjoyed not having to shower for a while without feel guilty, honey. I know someone else who lives in Canada who has gone for more than one day without a shower while being holed up in his room inside trying to avoid the below freezing temperatures outside! * whistles casually and innocently * Oh well, I have an excuse since I don’t really sweat or smell during the winter but when the summer comes along…oh my….showers galore! hahaha

    So, honey, I am so glad you had those medical tests done so it was good that you followed your smart Sisters advice. She is a doctor, after all! 🙂 I am sure everything will be all right but it always good to be on the safe side. As for the gel and the hair, I always think of Cameron Diaz’s famous spikey hair gel scene “In there’s something about Mary!” hit 1998 movie! Classic vintage stuff! haha

    Ah…yes…BSD is dying! I love this clip and even shared it with Corey not even 24 hours ago. The audience is so hilarious with their spontaneous outbursts of laughter but I have to tip my hat to Jason Dixon for his quick wit and humorous and timely jokes that stemmed the potential tide of outraged geek storm troopers from rushing his position at the lecture podium!

    “NetBSD – Over 50 hardware platforms from a single source tree..and that is pretty much what it’s known for. To be honest …I gotta admit I am an OpenBSD guy..I was looking for real cool innovative features from NetBSD and I really couldn’t find any so..umm..we’ll let them hang their hat on this… (A potential murmuring and geek resurrection brews in the audience).. I know the NetBSD users are going to jump me …. and I can handle two of you!” I Laugh my butt off every time I hear that! On a more serious note, in regards to the very naughty caption that comes at the tail end of the lecture we have to make sure that users in linux and freebsd form a coalition to target the real enemy…Windongs / Winblows /

    Yes, he did get engaged honey but don’t worry because you have me now and I love you more than anyone or anything in the world! ❤

    Comment by devin — March 15, 2009 @ 8:18 am

  2. Hahahahha yeah. The clip is good. I saw a GPS thing in the menu of my new cell phone but I haven’t really played around with it yet. Thanks baby, I love you too. ❤

    Ray, I think Devin’s comment qualifies as a post lol 🙂

    Comment by od — March 15, 2009 @ 8:41 am

  3. Yeah, Devin writes more in the comment than on the main page – I think you’ll both have to create posts together or people will think this site is abandoned 😉

    I’m not feeling reassured about Canada’s intentions – what Devin said certainly sounds reasonable. But then I realised, that’s what they want us to think. Ol’ Canada just sitting there providing medical care to the States and then *BAM* we have a Canadaian world dictatorship. They must be stopped!

    Bad news about the phone, by the way and good news about fixing your upgrade – does that balance out then?

    Comment by Ray — March 15, 2009 @ 8:40 pm

  4. Ray has discovered our plan! Get the Brit! We must hide him before others figure it out!

    Comment by MrCorey — March 15, 2009 @ 9:26 pm

  5. Abandoned? Oh no. Devin reminded me last February that this blog was already a year old and I was like whoa.. really? Lol.

    Yeah, it does balance out. Plus I didn’t have to spend a dime on my new phone since my brother got it for me. The blessing of being the youngest ehe.

    Comment by od — March 16, 2009 @ 11:43 pm

  6. Hah, I always knew Canada was too quiet and polite. You’ve probably all got fortresses of solitude as well. And underground bunkers, damn your eyes!

    And od, as the eldest, i feel for your bro 🙂

    Comment by Ray — March 17, 2009 @ 3:13 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

